Decoding Bengal Subah ( Day 1)

ABSORB SOME NEW KNOWLEDGE!

Mistress of spice and everything nice

Murshidabad… once known as the ‘Island of Cossimbazar’ , bounded by the river Padma on the north, Bhagirathi on the west and the south, and the Jalangi on the east, was the capital of independent Bengal in the 17th century. The advent of Europeans at Cossimbazar in the 17th and 18th century produced far reaching consequences. Her silk and cotton trade attracted the Dutch, the French, the Armenians and the English.

Like most of you out there, I hated History as a subject in school! But Historical places and antiques have always been my weakness and its a shame that I never knew this little place so near to my home had so much to offer! When we decided a road trip to Murshidabad in this burning heat I was not really sure I wanted to go. But I am glad I went. It was definitely not the best time to…

View original post 1,265 more words

